top of page

What are Chakras?

In the fields of alternative and natural health, we focus often on clearing and aligning the chakras, or the energy centers of the body. Practitioners of acupuncture, Reiki, chiropractics, Chinese medicine and hypnotherapy are just a few healers who focus on chakra health, according to their own respective disciplines.

Chakras are vortexes of energy within the body. There are many chakra energy centers throughout the body, but seven are commonly known or focused upon: root, sacral, solar plexus, heart, throat, third eye and crown.


Root chakra, located at the base of spine; Its color is Red Sacral chakra, located just below navel; its color is Orange Solar Plexus, located just above the navel; its color is Yellow Heart chakra, located directly at the heart; its color is Green Throat chakra, located in the throat; its color is Blue Third eye, located between the brows; its color is Indigo

Crown chakra, located at the crown of the head; its color is Violet/White

Humans are created of three bodies: the physical body, astral body and mental body. Charka points essentially move energy between these bodies, by raising or dropping the energy frequency within each chakra center. If energy is too high, too low or blocked we can experience mental and physical suffering. Each of the chakras resides in a particular part of the body and they are located along the spine; from the base of the spine, to the crown of the head. The health of the chakra correlates to the health of the organs and systems within that particular energy center. Chakras also have baring on our personality traits. When the chakras are in balance our physical, emotional and mental bodies are in balance as well. The use of creative visualization meditation is often used to open, clear, balance and energize the chakra centers. Each chakra point is associated with a particular color. By using this information, along with the power of concentration, visualization and breath work, one can help stimulate a particular chakra and keep it open and clear.


Go into a quiet place where you will not be disturbed. You may play meditation music and burn incense or sage yourself. Then follow these meditation instructions: 1. Lie on your back, or sit up in cross legged posture with your back straight. Pick the most comfortable position. 2. Close your eyes and take 5 deep slow breaths in through the nose and out through the mouth. Release stress with the out breath. Relax and clam the mind. 3. Now begin to visualize the color red at the base of your spine as a glowing ball of red light. Feel your breath moving in and out from this center while continuing to imagine a red ball of light emanating from that location. See it spinning, turning and energizing. And let it release all the negativity that it needs to release. 4. After spending a minute or two at the root chakra, move up to the sacral (sex) chakra and repeat the exercise with the color orange. 5. In this fashion work upward through the other chakras, from the solar plexus, to the heart chakra, the throat chakra and the third eye, and all the way up to the crown of your head.. 6. Once you complete the cycle, relax for a few minutes and then finish the meditation, by affirming you are healthy, balanced and at peace. This meditation works on the entire chakra system, but if you are interested in opening and balancing just one particular chakra, you can simply focus on doing the visualization meditation with the color for that specific chakra only. This method of chakra balancing is very effective, but one should be used wisely to ensure one is physically and mentally able to handle the increased energy flow that can occur when chakras are cleared, opened and energized.


Chronic chakra imbalance may be related to physical ailments and/or mental health issues. These are a few examples of the ailments frequently related to unhealthy chakras:

1-Root chakra problems sometimes result in fear and insecurity; feeling unloved or detached. There may be abandonment or rejection issues related to the family of origin. 2-Sacral chakra problems may block the feeling of true joy. Shame and guilt may be felt . Artistic, creative, and personal expression may feel blocked or shut down. Sexual issues may be present. 3-Navel chakra is the area where emotional pain settles. Issues here may result in feeling a loss of control, loss of personal power and feelings of insecurity. Poor self-image, low self-esteem, self-power problems and self-doubt can emerge in this energy center.

4-Heart chakra is the chakra from which we both give and receive love. It is the chakra of forgiveness- forgiving both ourselves and others. The heart chakra is the center of the Self. Harmony and health in the heart chakra keeps us balanced and whole.

5-Throat chakra is the center of communication. Self expression and speaking and hearing your personal truth lies in this chakra. Issues here can result in poor, or non-existent communication, and the tendency to “swallow” your feelings. One may be blocked from “hearing” their personal truth if this chakra is not clear.

6-Third eye chakra is the chakra of insight, intuition, wisdom and inner knowing. Third eye energy should feel calming, so if there is a problem in this center, one may experience anxiety, and all its symptoms, headaches, nightmares, confusion, delusions/hallucinations, blocked psychic abilities and more.

7-Crown chakra - our divine connection to God and the Universe. It is the energy center from which healing and knowledge enter our body. Keeping this chakra clear and open keeps us connected to God or Universe and all we need, therefore having a positive effect on the entire body and mind.

Take assessment of you chakras and do the meditation above. You might look for a trained professional who can provide you a chakra clearing, or look for YouTube guided meditation on chakra clearing. It will make a difference n how you feel if you work it!

Love and Light!

Dr Lora

I'd love to hear your comments below

© 2017 Lora Coleman

All Rights Reserved


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page